Connect With UsFacebookTwitterYouTube
Click to Home
Services and Programs
Go To Search
Pawnbroker License
Pawnbroker License

Loudoun County Code (Chapter 830) requires that any person who acts as a pawnbroker by lending or advancing money for profit in exchange for another person’s personal property must obtain a Pawnbroker License. Pawnbroker licenses are issued by the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office.  

Loudoun County limits the number of allowed pawnbroker businesses, commonly called pawn shops, to eight.

A pawnbroker is any person who lends or advances money or other things for profit on the pledge or possession of tangible personal property, or valuable things, other than securities or written evidences of indebtedness, or who deals in the purchasing of personal property or other valuable things on the condition of selling the same back to the seller at a stipulated price.

 An individual who is interested in obtaining a pawnbroker license must first be approved as a pawnbroker by the Loudoun County Circuit Court.  In order to obtain The Circuit Court order, the applicant must submit petition for authorization to the court and obtain the court order before applying for a permit with the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office.  

For more information on how to apply with the Loudoun County Circuit Court, please call 703-777-0270. 

Pawnbroker applicants must also apply for a Precious Metals and Gems (PMG) permit to allow the pawnbroker to purchase jewelry and other precious metal from the public which is included in the Pawnbroker License process.

The following are required by the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office to apply for a Pawnbroker License:  

1. Order issued by Loudoun County Circuit Court naming the applicant as a pawnbroker.  
 
2. Application form, Release of Personal Information form, and Reporting Agreement form; all need to be signed and notarized. 

3. Valid, unexpired government issued picture identification. 

4. Applicants who were born outside of the United States must provide valid, unexpired proof of employment authorization such as a Permanent Resident Card, Employment Authorization Card, or proof of U.S. citizenship.

5. Copy of Loudoun County Business License from the Office of Commissioner of the Revenue.

6. Surety bond, payable to Loudoun County, Virginia in amount of $50,000. 

7. Copy of Virginia “Placed in Service” report for trade scales inspected by an approved technician with the Virginia Office of Weights and Measures.  

8. Submit a fingerprint card (fingerprints may be obtained at the Records Section at the Sheriff’s Office at the time of application).

9. Payment of $200.00 payable to Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office by cash, check, or money order. Credit cards are not accepted for payment of license fees.   

10. Please review these requirements carefully. Failure to provide any of the required information will delay issuance permit.