Does Virginia have a procedure for probate for a small estate?

If an estate consists of personal assets not totaling more than $25,000, and 60 days have passed since the date of death and no Personal Representative has qualified in any jurisdiction, a small estate affidavit may be issued to the heirs at law when there is no will, or to the beneficiaries of a will once the will and/or the list of heirs at law have been recorded. An appointment with the probate department is necessary for this procedure. A certified copy of the death certificate is also required.

Show All Answers

1. What is the definition of Probate?
2. What are the two types of Probate for a decedent's estate?
3. How do I determine which Clerk's Office to contact for Probate?
4. Why do I have to probate a decedent's estate?
5. What if the decedent's only asset was a motor vehicle?
6. Does the Clerk’s Office hold wills for safekeeping?
7. How do I obtain my will that has been held for safekeeping?
8. How do I obtain a will that has been secured in Loudoun County Courthouse for someone who is now deceased?
9. Does Virginia have a procedure for probate for a small estate?
10. Where may a copy of a death certificate be obtained in Virginia?
11. Whom do I contact about estate taxes?
12. How can I obtain a Tax ID Number?
13. How do I file a claim against an estate?