My car is registered out-of-state. Do I still need to register my car with Loudoun County?

Yes, if you intend to have your car garaged, parked or stored in Loudoun County for 30 days or more, you must register the vehicle in Loudoun County. Your car is assessed property tax for the length of time it is located in Loudoun County.

Vehicles displaying out-of-state license plates and are not otherwise exempt from obtaining Virginia license plates will be charged an additional annual license fee of $100. A $250 penalty may also be imposed on owners of vehicles that are not registered within 60 days of the owner’s having established residency in Virginia.

To register your vehicle with Loudoun County, go online or bring your valid out-of-state vehicle registration in person, Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. to one of our office locations:

Leesburg Office 
1 Harrison St. S.E. 1st Floor
Leesburg, VA 20175
Ph: 703-777-0260

Sterling Office 
21641 Ridgetop Cir. Ste. 100
Sterling, VA 20166

Show All Answers

1. How does a new resident (or business owner) located in Loudoun County or in one of Loudoun's towns obtain a personal property return?
2. If I register in person, what information must I bring?
3. Does titling and registering my vehicle with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) automatically register the vehicle with Loudoun County?
4. Do I need to register my vehicles in Loudoun County even if they are already registered in the state of Virginia?
5. If I submit a change of address to the DMV, the U.S. Postal Service, or an incorporated town, do I still need to notify Loudoun County of an address change?
6. What do I need to do if I move my property into or out of one of Loudoun’s incorporated towns or change my mailing address?
7. How can I find out whether an address is within an incorporated town?
8. My car is registered out-of-state. Do I still need to register my car with Loudoun County?
9. Do I need to file a personal property return for my vehicle, trailer, or boat every year?
10. Do I need to file a personal property return for my airplane or mobile home every year?
11. Is there a late filing penalty for failure to file a return by the prescribed deadline?
12. How do I substantiate that my motor vehicle with specially designed equipment for use by the handicapped qualifies for a lower tax rate?
13. Can I register my vehicle online?
14. How do I report the move, sale or disposal of vehicles or report mailing address changes for an existing account?
15. To what address should I send a tax filing if I want to use overnight mailing services?