News & Announcements

Sheriff's Office

Posted on: February 6, 2024

Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office Presents Annual Achievement Awards

Group Picture

Loudoun County, VA (February 6, 2024) – The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office (LCSO) held its annual Awards and Recognition Ceremony on February 2, 2024, to recognize the exceptional efforts of members of the agency and others in furtherance of their service and dedication to the local community last year.

The program allows members of the agency to nominate their co-workers, partners in law enforcement, and citizens for efforts that may otherwise go unrecognized. The nominations are then reviewed by an awards committee, and recipients are recommended. The categories awarded this year included the Meritorious Service Award, the Meritorious Action Award, the Commendation Award, and the Master Deputy Program Achievement Award.

Sheriff Mike Chapman convened the awards ceremony and 1st Lt. Matthew Bressler served as the emcee. This year’s award recipients included personnel from the Purcellville Police Department as well as the LCSO. 

The Meritorious Service Award was presented to 2nd Lieutenant Dylan Foscato, recognizing performance by a member within the scope of normal responsibilities but performed in such a manner as to deserve special recognition.


The Meritorious Action Award, recognizing an individual, or team of individuals, who have demonstrated exemplary action in response to a specific situation, was presented to the following individuals: DFC Zachary Gardner; DFC Justin Sperling (2); DFC Daren Smith (2); Sergeant Joshua Edney (2); DFC Jonathan Walker, DFC Michael Davidson (2), DFC Tyler Giles, DFC Abigail Salomon, DFC Zachary Blackall; DFC Matthew Connell; DFC Joseph Fletcher; DFC Jeremy Reynolds; Dispatcher Hayley Crooke; Sergeant Samantha Harwood; Master Deputy John McClintic; DFC William Sullivan; DFC Charles Ewing; DFC Garrett Osborn; DFC John Tisol; Sergeant Bradley Foster; Sergeant Brandon McGhee; DFC Phi Pham; DFC Andrew Goldan; DFC James Sullivan; Deputy Joshua Calhoun; Deputy Samuel Zinkgraf; Dispatcher Daniel Channell; Dispatcher Kyle Moore; Dispatcher Tammmy Marcum; DFC James Hollar, Deputy Christopher Brannan; DFC James Gutshall; and Lieutenant Scott Moskowitz, Sergeant Eric Bridge, Sergeant Dave Camp, Officer Nelson Fernandez, Officer Abigail St. Onge, and Officer Ben Nett of the Purcellville Police Department.


The Master Deputy Program Achievement Award was presented to Master Deputy Terry Rudolph, recognizing superior job knowledge, devotion to duty specifically related to a career path, dedication to those they serve, and loyalty to the LCSO.


The Commendation Award, is given to an individual or team of individuals for an act that materially contributes to the accomplishment of the LCSO’s goals or for an act that warrants special recognition in the public interest, was presented to the following individuals: Master Deputy Chad Neff; Sergeant Tony Outlaw; Master Deputy Anne Ottosen; DFC Joshua Doroski; DFC Stewart Marcantel; 2nd Lieutenant Robert Bruns; Sergeant Lewis McClenahan; Detective Sean McCormack; Detective Michael Grimsley; Detective Ryan Schmidt; Detective Larry R. Reed; Detective Andrew Raughley; Detective Donald Wilhelm; Detective Mark Bush (2); Master Deputy Joseph Hacay; Crime Scene Investigator Josiah Kennedy; Crime Scene Investigator Matthew Devaney; DFC William Sullivan; DFC Jacob Karrasch; DFC Kevin Lewis; DFC Nelson Gonzalez; Crime Analyst Rebecca Kelley; Crime Analyst Amara Serrano-Kirby; Crime Analyst Victoria Slade; Sergeant Joshua Edney; Master Deputy Linda Parker; Sergeant Raymond Gessner; DFC Nathan Gerben; DFC James Gutshall (2); DFC Jeremy Reynolds (2); Crime Analyst Jacqueline Gallman; 2nd Lieutenant Kevin Weare; Investigator Jorge Garcia; Investigator Brian Degear, Investigator Andrew Mister; Investigator Matthew Devaney; Investigator Josiah Kennedy, Investigator Daniel Maxfield; DFC Kesley Long; DFC Jeremy Reynolds; Civil Legal Aide Kelli Titus; 2nd Lieutenant Robert Bennett; Sergeant John Paul Jones; DFC Ariel Rodriguez; DFC Joseph Rosado; DFC Tristan Rossetti; and DFC Michael Matias. 


The LCSO thanks Cornerstone Chapel for hosting this year’s awards ceremony, and Pastor Gary Hamrick, who also serves as LCSO Chaplain. Those in attendance included the recipients and their families; Loudoun County Sheriff Mike Chapman; members of the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office Command Staff; Loudoun County Administrator Tim Hemstreet; Commonwealth’s Attorney Bob Anderson and Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorney Nicole Wittmann; Leesburg Police Chief Thea Pirnat; and Purcellville Police Chief Cynthia McAlister.

Also recognized at the ceremony were 22 outstanding members of the LCSO team who have completed 20, 25, or 30 years of service.

The Awards program was developed by the LCSO in 2010.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Sheriff's Office

image of sheriff's vehicle and badge with the words media release

Pedestrian Fatality in Sterling

Posted on: February 21, 2024
image of sheriff's vehicle and badge with the words media release

LCSO Deputy Returns Home After Injury

Posted on: January 29, 2024
image of sheriff's vehicle and badge with the words media release

Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office Arrests Fentanyl Dealer

Posted on: January 26, 2024 | Last Modified on: July 28, 2021
image of sheriff's vehicle and badge with the words media release

LCSO Recognizes Graduates from the 57th Crisis Intervention Training Program

Posted on: January 26, 2024 | Last Modified on: July 28, 2021
image of sheriff's vehicle and badge with the words media release

Arrest Made in May Stabbing Incident

Posted on: December 21, 2023
image of sheriff's vehicle and badge with the words media release

LCSO Investigating Stabbing in Sterling

Posted on: November 11, 2023
Crash website

Deceased Identified in Fatal Crash

Posted on: October 26, 2023
Press release website

Residents Beware of Jury Duty Scam

Posted on: May 11, 2023
Press release website

LCSO Arrests Two Suspects in Burglary

Posted on: February 11, 2023
Press release website

LCSO Arrests Area Man in Stabbing

Posted on: February 6, 2023
Press release website

LCSO Investigating Robbery in Sterling

Posted on: November 28, 2022

Manassas Man Dies in Workplace Accident

Posted on: November 26, 2022
Press release website

Daycare Employee Charged with Child Abuse

Posted on: November 18, 2022
Missing website

Aldie Teenager Located

Posted on: October 28, 2022
Press release website

LCSO Investigating Robbery in Leesburg

Posted on: October 13, 2022
Press release website

Stone Colburn Arrested in Pooler, GA

Posted on: October 7, 2022

Thank You Loudoun County!

Posted on: December 2, 2019