News & Announcements

Sheriff's Office

Posted on: December 19, 2022

Six New Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office Deputies Graduate from the NVCJA

147th Graduation website

Loudoun County, VA (December 19, 2022) – Today, six new Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office Deputies graduated from the 147th Session of the Northern Virginia Criminal Justice Academy (NVCJA). 

Please help us welcome Deputies Christopher Brannan, Edmund Chong, Sean Doogue, James Laverty, Michael Roccasanta, and Samuel Zinkgraf.

Deputy Zinkgraf received the Academic Award and Deputy Doogue received the Human Performance Award at today’s graduation ceremony.  Deputy Chong was elected as the 147th class president.

“We are very excited for the six new deputies to join our family.  I wish them the best as they begin working with our community and continuing to make Loudoun County one of the safest and best places to live in the nation,” said Sheriff Chapman.

So far this year, the Loudoun Sheriff's Office has hired 54 sworn personnel and continues to attract highly qualified candidates. Of the 54 new hires, 28 are pre-certified officers from law enforcement agencies in Virginia, and an additional 10 sworn officers are from out of state. The new hires have filled positions in patrol, courts, and corrections.

The graduation ceremony was held at the Northern Virginia Community College’s Rachel M. Schlesinger Concert Hall in Alexandria.  Participating agencies of the NVCJTA include Arlington County Police Department, Arlington County Sheriff’s Office, City of Alexandria Police Department, City of Alexandria Sheriff’s Office, City of Fairfax Police Department, City of Falls Church Police Department, City of Falls Church Sheriff’s Office, George Mason University Police Department, Leesburg Police Department, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office, City of Manassas Police Department, Manassas Park Police Department, Middleburg Police Department, Metro Transit Police Department, Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority Police, Northern Virginia Community College Police Department, and the Town of Purcellville Police Department. 

On behalf of the men and women of Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office, congratulations to all the graduates!



Front Row:  Deputy First Class Erick Ambroise, Sergeant Daniel Clarke, Major Craig Schleiden, Lieutenant Colonel Gun Lee, Sheriff Mike Chapman, Major Easton McDonald, Captain Tom Gilligan, & Lieutenant Joshua Lowder

Back Row:  Deputy Doogue, Deputy Zinkgraf, Deputy Chong, Deputy Roccasanta, Deputy Brannan, and Deputy Laverty


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Sheriff's Office

image of sheriff's vehicle and badge with the words media release

LCSO Investigating Stabbing in Sterling

Posted on: November 11, 2023
Crash website

Deceased Identified in Fatal Crash

Posted on: October 26, 2023
Missing Person Update for News Flash (002)

Update: Sterling Man Located Safe

Posted on: October 16, 2023
Press release website

Residents Beware of Jury Duty Scam

Posted on: May 11, 2023
Press release website

LCSO Arrests Two Suspects in Burglary

Posted on: February 11, 2023
Press release website

LCSO Arrests Area Man in Stabbing

Posted on: February 6, 2023
Press release website

LCSO Investigating Fatal Crash in Sterling

Posted on: December 12, 2022
Press release website

LCSO Investigating Robbery in Sterling

Posted on: November 28, 2022

Manassas Man Dies in Workplace Accident

Posted on: November 26, 2022
Press release website

Daycare Employee Charged with Child Abuse

Posted on: November 18, 2022
Missing website

Aldie Teenager Located

Posted on: October 28, 2022
Press release website

LCSO Investigating Robbery in Leesburg

Posted on: October 13, 2022
Press release website

Stone Colburn Arrested in Pooler, GA

Posted on: October 7, 2022

Thank You Loudoun County!

Posted on: December 2, 2019