Loudoun Commissioner of the Revenue Robert S. Wertz Jr. is mailing notification of 2022 personal property filing requirements to all vehicle owners currently on the county’s tax rolls. Personal property includes automobiles, trucks, motorcycles, campers, trailers, boats, motorhomes, aircraft, and mobile homes. Residents will soon begin receiving notices in the mail with an account number and instructions that they will use to review and update their personal property tax records for the 2022 tax year. The online process allows residents to review and update information on the more than 375,000 vehicles now located in the county. Residents can access their personal property information online at loudoun.gov/efile utilizing their social security or tax identification number, mailing address ZIP code and unique account number, which is displayed on the notice. Residents may receive more than one notice depending on how their property is owned or registered.
Residents should report corrections, an address change, the sale or disposal of a vehicle, or unusually high mileage as well as unrepaired body damage or serious mechanical defect since these factors may affect the property’s valuation or the number of months a vehicle is taxed in the county. The commissioner requests that all changes be submitted by February 15, 2022, to assist in establishing accurate assessments for the 2022 tax year.
To avoid late filing penalties, newly acquired vehicles or those recently entering Loudoun County must be reported to the Commissioner of the Revenue within 60 days of purchase or move to Loudoun County or one of Loudoun County’s incorporated towns. Owners of vehicles in the county are subject to taxes beginning on the date the vehicle came to Loudoun, even if the vehicle displays out-of-state license plates.
Owners of vehicles displaying out-of-state license plates who are not otherwise exempt from obtaining Virginia license plates will be charged an additional annual license fee of $100. A $250 penalty may also be imposed on owners of vehicles that are not registered with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles within 60 days of the owner having established residency in Virginia.
Military service members residing in Loudoun County who have separated from military service and were receiving a tax exemption due to claiming a domicile outside of Virginia should contact the Commissioner of the Revenue’s Office to report their change in status so their exemption can be removed.
The Commissioner of the Revenue encourages residents to connect with the office virtually as most transactions can be completed online. For more information or filing assistance, visit.loudoun.gov/cor or contact the Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue at [email protected] or 703-777-0260. Regular office hours are weekdays, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
# # #