Adult Protective Services
Adult Protective Services (APS) is on call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to receive and investigate reports of abuse, neglect, and exploitation regarding persons 60 years or older and adults who are 18 or older and who are incapacitated. Intervention, APS services, and adult services are provided based on assessment. Any person may report suspected abuse to APS.
To Report Adult Abuse, Neglect, or Exploitation
- To report APS concerns Monday through Friday between 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m., call 703-777-0437 and ask to speak to the Adult Protective Services Intake Worker.
- To report APS concerns Monday through Friday after 5:00 pm and on weekends, call the Sheriff’s Dispatcher at 703-777-0445 and ask to have the APS On-Call Worker paged.
- There is also a 24-hour, toll-free state hotline (888-832-3858) for reporting to APS.
Anyone can make an APS report. However, mandated reporters are required by law to immediately report suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of older adults or person with disabilities. Mandated reporters include:
- Law enforcement officers
- Mental health professionals
- Social workers
- Persons providing full-time or part-time care to adults for pay on a regular basis
- Persons who are employed by a public or private agency or facility and work with adults
- Physicians, including hospital residents and interns
- Any person licensed, certified, or registered by health regulatory boards listed in §54.1-2503 of the Virginia Code, except persons licensed by the Board of Veterinary Medicine
Any guardian or conservator of an adult
Any emergency medical services personnel certified by the Board of Health pursuant to §32.1-111.5 of the Virginia Code
APS offers free Mandated Reporter Training to our community. If you would like to request a Mandated Reporter Training Session, please call 703-777-0437.
In addition to Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation investigations; other services include:
Prescreenings are conducted to determine the need of individuals for Medicaid Nursing Home, Medicaid Personal Care and Assisted Living Facilities. More information is available by clicking on the links below.
A Medicaid application is available from the CommonHelp website.
Find a list of nursing homes and assisted living facilities (PDF) in Loudoun County.
Guardian Report Reviews
Guardians appointed by the court for incapacitated adults must file annual reports for review by an APS family services specialist. More information is available from the Probate Division of the Clerk of the Circuit Court.
Companion Service Program
This program provides assistance to incapacitated adults and adults over 60 who are within state income guidelines who are unable to care for themselves without assistance and where there is no one available to provide the needed services without cost. Companion service includes assistance with:
- Eating / Feeding
- Light Housekeeping
- Meal Preparations
Services provided to the extent that funds are available. Visit the Companion Program page for more information.