Open Burning Regulations

Banner with text about open burning regulations

Open Burning Regulations

The regulation on open burning is based upon air quality standards developed by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and is enforced locally by the Loudoun County Fire Marshal’s Office. The DEQ has included Loudoun County in the Northern Virginia area which has extended the open burning ban from May through September of each year. Open burning regulations vary based upon the time of the year. To learn more about the open burning regulations during a select time period, see details below. 

  • February 15 to April 30 Open Burning Allowed Only Between 4:00 p.m. and 12 a.m.
  • May 1 to September 30 Open Burning Prohibited
  • October 1 to February 14 Open Burning Permitted under Normal Conditions. 
  • Development Related Burning (See below)

Fire Marshal Disclaimer: The Loudoun County Fire Marshal may impose regulations, at any time, based upon a complaint, atmospheric or other environmental circumstances, or to restrict or extinguish any fire that is otherwise permitted according to these guidelines.

Violations and Penalty: Violations of the open burning regulations may result in being charged with and convicted of a Class 1 Misdemeanor. In addition, the responsible party may be held liable for all damages and the costs of firefighting operations. Questions can be directed to the Fire Marshal’s Office at 703-737-8600 during normal business hours. Questions outside of normal business hours or to report open burning, contact the Emergency Communications Center (ECC) at 703-777-0637.

  1. October 1 to February 14 - Permitted
  2. February 15 to April 30 - Allowed  between 4:00 p.m. & 12:00 a.m.
  3. May 1 to September 30 -Prohibited
  4. Development Related Burning

Open Burning Permitted October 1 to February 14

Opening burn is allowed from October 1 to February 14 except when not otherwise prohibited as outlined in the Open Burning Prohibited section. Open burning is permitted for the burning of leaves, trees, brush, yard and garden trimmings generated on-site, where street side trash service is not available for this purpose. The burning of following items is prohibited countywide (towns included): 

  • construction debris and waste
  • plastics
  • tires
  • tar based materials
  • oil or petroleum based products
  • hazardous materials and waste
  • chemicals
  • animal carcasses
  • household trash/waste and garbage
  • refuse
  • commercial waste
  • combustible liquid
  • debris waste
  • impregnated lumber
  • junk
  • rubber
  • stumps
  • products of salvage operations
  • other similar materials and waste

Open burning is allowed under the following conditions:

  • All such open burning must be reported to the Loudoun County Fire and Rescue Emergency Communications Center (ECC) at 703-777-0637 prior to ignition and when the fire is extinguished.
  • Open burning may be no closer than 50 feet from a structure.
  • Fires shall be attended by competent persons 18 years of age or older, at all times, with provisions for control and extinguishment available.
  • If at any time the fire is not attended and/or a means of extinguishment not immediately available, it must be fully extinguished.

Bonfires are allowed provided that they consist of seasoned wood, piled neatly, no more than five feet in diameter by five feet in height.

Open burning that is offensive or objectionable because of smoke or odor emissions or when atmospheric conditions or local circumstances make such fires hazardous shall be prohibited.

The Fire Marshal can institute a burn ban for any reason if conditions warrant. This information will be provided through media sources and available through the Loudoun County Emergency Communications Center (ECC).

Open Burning Permit

Contact the Fire Marshal's Office at 703-737-8600 to obtain an Open Burning Permit Application Form. The fee is $120. An operational permit is required to operate a special incineration device as defined by the State Air Pollution Control Board.