February 19, 2019, Special Election - 86th House of Delegates District

A special election will be held in the 86th House of Delegates District on February 19, 2019 for the purpose of filling the seat vacated upon Delegate Boysko's election to the State Senate.

Candidates Appearing on Ballot (Vote for one)

     - Gregg Garrett Nelson - R
     - Ibraheem S. Samirah - D
     - Connie Haines Hutchinson - I

Information for Voters

This election is open ONLY to registered voters in the 86th House of Delegates District which in Loudoun County ONLY includes precincts 701-Sully and 705-Forest Grove.  No other Loudoun voters are eligible to vote in this election.

Polling Place: Vote at your normal polling location, precincts 701-Sully and 705-Forest Grove ONLY

Hours: Polls will be open from 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, February 19, 2019.

In-Person Voter Registration Deadline: Tuesday, February 12, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. and 11:59 p.m. online

By-Mail Voter Registration Deadline: Postmarked no later than February 12, 2019.

To verify registration and precinct information visit the State Department of Elections website by clicking here..

Absentee Voting Information

Ballots for both In-Person and By-Mail Absentee Voting are now available.  You may appear at the Office of Elections during the hours listed below to vote in-person.  Or to have a ballot mailed to you so you can vote from home apply online at https://www.elections.virginia.gov/casting-a-ballot/absentee-voting/index.html

For information concerning eligibility to vote absentee or to obtain an application please click here.


  • Last day to apply to have a ballot mailed to you is Tuesday, February 12, 2019 at 5:00 p.m.
  • Last day to vote an absentee ballot in person is Saturday, February 16, 2019 (office will be open 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.)

In-Person Absentee Voting Location and Schedule (no satellite voting location for this election):

Voter Registration Office
750 Miller Dr. SE, Suite C
Leesburg, VA 20175

     Monday through Friday (January 30, 2019 through February 15, 2019) - 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

     Saturday, February 16, 2019 - 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.