February 5, 2019 Special Election

A special election will be held in the Town of Lovettsville on February 5, 2019 for the purpose of filling two vacant Town Council Member seats.  One will serve through June 30, 2020 the other will serve through June 30, 2022.

Results will be available shortly after polls close at 7:00 p.m. on February 5, 2019 and can be viewed in two different formats:

Results for Town of Lovettsville Special Election - in real time as reportedOpens a New Window.
Results for Town of Lovettsville via the VA Department of Elections website

Candidates Appearing on Ballot

     For a term to end June 30, 2020 (vote for one)
             Rebekah N. Ontiveros
             Buchanan M. Smith

     For a term to end June 30, 2022 (vote for one)
             David A. Steadman

Information for Voters

This election is open ONLY to registered voters within the Town of Lovettsville. Please check your voter card and verify that you live in the Town of Lovettsville.  

Polling Place: Vote at your normal polling location.

Hours: Polls will be open from 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, February 5, 2019.

In-Person Voter Registration Deadline: Tuesday, January 22, 2019 at 5:00 p.m.

By-Mail Voter Registration Deadline: Postmarked no later than January 22, 2019.

To verify registration and precinct information visit the State Department of Elections website by clicking here.

Absentee Voting Information

Ballots for both In-Person and By-Mail Absentee Voting are expected to available starting Friday, December 21, 2018. Please note that the Office of Elections will be closed on December 24 and 25, 2018, December 31, 2018 and January 1, 2019, and January 21, 2019 in observance of state holidays.

For information concerning eligibility to vote absentee or to obtain an application please click here.


  • Last day to apply to have a ballot mailed to you is Tuesday, January 29, 2019 at 5:00 p.m.
  • Last day to vote an absentee ballot in person is Saturday, February 2, 2019 (office will be open 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.)

In-Person Absentee Voting Location and Schedule (no satellite voting location for this election);

Voter Registration Office
750 Miller Dr. SE, Suite C
Leesburg, VA 20175

     Monday through Friday (December 21, 2018 through February 1, 2019) - 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.*
     Saturday, February 2, 2019 - 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

*Please note that the office is closed on December 24 and 25, 2018, December 31, 2018 and January 1, 2019, and January 21, 2019.