Dulles Rail Service Districts

Board Adopts Metrorail Service Districts

The Loudoun County Board of Supervisors adopted Metrorail Service Districts, designed to fund the Metrorail Silver Line extension to Loudoun County. The service districts, which are located in the areas surrounding the three planned Loudoun County Metro stations, are designed to help pay for the construction of the Silver Line to this area of the county and for the ongoing costs of providing the Metrorail service at those stations. An additional real property tax may be levied in the districts for these purposes, at a maximum rate of $0.20 per $100 of assessed property value.

Is Your Property in the Metrorail Service District?
Loudoun County has an online tool to determine if a property is in a Metrorail Service District.

Metro Service Districts.jpg

Background on Metrorail Service Districts

The Board of Supervisors adopted the Metrorail Service Districts in December 2012. In March, 2013, the Board directed that minor errors to the map be corrected. The item regarding the corrections, prepared for the Board business meeting of March 6, 2013, and the Copy Teste, a summary of the Board's official action, are online:

Adoption of the districts came after an extensive public process, including public information sessions attended by representatives from the county’s Department of Management and Financial Services, the Office of Transportation Services, and the Public Affairs and Communications Division, along with representatives from the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority and the Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority.

  • The Board of Supervisors held a public hearing on the proposed districts on Wednesday, October 17, 2012.
  • On November 7, 2012, the Board of Supervisors voted to remove certain parcels from the proposed Metrorail Service District and forward the revised districts to the December 5, 2012, business meeting for adoption. The Board also voted to advertise for a December 11, 2012 public hearing with the intent to adopt an ordinance identifying an additional area to be added into the Metrorail Service District.
  • The Board adopted the revised Metrorail Service Districts on December 5, 2012 (PDF).
  • On December 11, 2012, the Board of Supervisors voted to withdraw a proposal to add an additional area to the Metrorail Service District. Chairman Scott York made the motion to withdraw the proposal, saying he is confident that the original proposed Metrorail Service Districts will generate the necessary revenue to support the extension of Metrorail to Loudoun County.
  • The districts considered by the Board are described in detail in the Copy Teste from the Board's business meeting on September 5, 2012 (PDF).

The Office of Mapping and Geographic Information has prepared a set of Metrorail maps.